Monday, 10 September 2012

The Stone of Darkness Tour

Hi everyone, welcome to The Stone of Darkness tour.  The Stone of Darkness is book 3 of the awesome Dragonslayer series by Resa Nelson.

Astrid accepts her duty and follows the winter route-until she's bitten by a dragon. Everyone knows dragon bites are poisonous and deadly, so she reluctantly accepts her impending death. In a twist of fate, she survives. Desperate for an explanation, Astrid believes she has somehow been protected by the black stone she keeps with her at all times, a stone that emerged from the sole of her foot a year ago.

Determined to find out what the stone is and what kind of powers it possesses, Astrid begins a journey that leads her to alchemists and an army of men under the rule of the powerful warrior, Mandulane, the acting lord of the Krystr army.

Soon, she stumbles upon a secret of a far-reaching and mind-numbing plot that will impact the entire world.

My Review

The Stone of Darkness is much darker than the previous books, and is part of a unique series full of adventure, friendship, betrayal and...dragons.  I loved the enigmatic dragons - they seem completely alien and their motivations are unclear, it feels as if there is more to their relationship with the dragonslayers.

Astrid is a wonderful character who has come a long way since the first book. She is no longer the little girl who hid in a blanket, fearing everyone would see her the way she saw herself. She has grown and has become stronger, following her destiny where it has lead - from frightened child to Blacksmith, from Blacksmith to Dragonslayer and Dragonslayer to hero - turning the tables on those who would manipulate her. Stone of Darkness ends on a cliffhanger, I can't wait to read the next book and find out how the series ends.

With relatable, flawed characters, enigmatic dragons, a rich tale full of sword and sorcery, Resa Nelson has created a gripping tale that will hook you from the beginning.  I can't wait  to read the final book and discover what happens next.

The Dragonslayer’s Sword (Book 1)

For Astrid, a blacksmith who makes swords for dragonslayers, the emergence of a strange gemstone from her body sets in motion a chain of events that threaten to destroy her life. Her happiness is shattered when her lover--the dragonslayer--disappears without a trace, and the life that she knows and loves implodes without warning.
Astrid lives in a world of shapeshifters whose thoughts have the power to change not only themselves but others. Everything Astrid knows to be true is called into question when she learns the truth about her past and the mysterious family from which she was separated as a child.

The Iron Maiden (Book 2)

Astrid is reluctant to travel the winter route beyond the Northlands, even though it’s her duty. She’d rather stay home in her village, surrounded by friends and neighbors. 

Everything changes when a traveling merchant steals Starlight, the first dragonslayer’s sword Astrid forged and her last link to her sweetheart DiStephan.  Determined to reclaim Starlight as her own and return home in time for dinner. Instead, her quest leads her to new lands, unexpected friendships with foreigners, and a harrowing encounter with the damage done by the followers of a new god that considers women as nothing more than servants to men. 

Author Bio
Resa Nelson has been selling fiction professionally since 1988. She is a longtime member of SFWA (Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America) and is a graduate of the Clarion SF Workshop.

Resa was also the TV/Movie Columnist for Realms of Fantasy magazine for 13 years and was a contributor to SCI FI magazine. She has sold over 200 articles to magazines in the United States and the United Kingdom.
Her first novel, The Dragonslayer’s Sword, was nominated for the Nebula Award and was also a Finalist for the EPPIE Award. This medieval fantasy novel is based on a short story first published in the premiere issue of Science Fiction Age magazine and ranked 2nd in that magazine's first Readers Top Ten Poll. The Dragonslayer's Sword is Book 1 in her 4-book Dragonslayer series. Book 2, The Iron Maiden, was published last December, Book 3 was published in May, and the final book in the series is scheduled for publication in November.

Links: Website  |  Facebook   |  Twitter    |    Email                                                      
To Buy: Barnes and Noble  |  Amazon  | Mundania Press (get a 10% discount at checkout with the coupon code MP10)

No comments:

Post a Comment